top of page

Skincare Contract Manufacturers Compared: Top 5 for OEM Brands

Aug 4
9 min read

Updated: Sep 14

What Should You Compare Between Skincare Contract Manufacturers?

Compare skincare contract manufacturers on six things that decide whether a project ships: manufacturing capacity and lines, certifications held, category specialization, regulatory footprint across your target markets, minimum order quantity, and whether the testing needed for your claims runs in-house. Everything else, including brand story and website polish, is secondary to those six.

The comparison below covers five manufacturers with different strengths. Two of them compete mainly on luxury and trend positioning, two on regulatory breadth and pharmaceutical adjacency, and one on efficacy skincare and special cosmetics certification. Which one fits depends on your claim set and your target market, not on a general ranking.

Top 5 Global Skincare Contract Manufacturers

How Do the Five Leading Skincare Contract Manufacturers Differ?

Each manufacturer below carries a distinct specialization. The summaries describe positioning rather than a ranking.

Intercos: luxury color cosmetics and sensory skincare

Intercos is based in Italy and works across luxury color cosmetics and high-end skincare, with an emphasis on sensory formulation and design-led development. Its client base sits at the prestige end of the market.

The fit is a brand with an established luxury position and the volume to meet a large minimum order. A startup with a limited first run will find the positioning and the order threshold harder to clear.

Cosmax: K-beauty trends and high-volume production

Cosmax operates production across South Korea, China, the US, and Indonesia, and works on translating emerging K-beauty trends into market-ready products. Its strength is scale and speed on trend-driven categories.

The fit is a brand capitalizing on fast-moving Asian beauty trends with a need for high volume. Highly customized clinical projects can find less flexibility in a trend-led, high-volume model.

DEVA Skincare: efficacy skincare and special cosmetics certification

DEVA Skincare operates as Guangzhou DEVA Biotechnology Co., Ltd., founded in 2006 with 20 years in the industry, and serves more than 300 brands a year as a one-stop cosmetics ODM covering R&D, smart manufacturing, and brand incubation. The company positions on baby-grade formulations and fresh active efficacy cosmetics.

The certifications and capacity figures are specific and verifiable. DEVA Skincare holds US FDA cosmetic manufacturer registration granted in 2023, Indonesian BPJPH halal certification from 2024, ISO 22716, and GMPC, and is recognized as a national high-tech enterprise, a Forbes China beauty industry top 100 company, and a Guangdong specialized and sophisticated enterprise. The group holds more than 70 granted patents with 17 or more under examination, 22 special cosmetics certificates with 21 more under application, and 5,000 or more mature formulas across 30 or more R&D engineers and 30 or more industry experts.

Manufacturing spans four sites: the Guangzhou headquarters at 20,000 square meters with nine lines, a second Huangpu site at 8,000 square meters with seven lines, a new Huangpu headquarters at 46,000 square meters with twelve lines, and an Indonesia site at 10,000 square meters with five lines. Combined monthly capacity exceeds 20 million units, and a second facility carries a dedicated automated sunscreen production line. The headquarters site includes an independent ampoule workshop with four pharmaceutical-grade ampoule lines running 500,000 units a day.

The testing depth is the differentiator. DEVA Skincare runs 150 efficacy and safety test protocols covering cell efficacy and toxicity, CAM irritation, melanin inhibition, and preservative challenge, with 72 inspection and process control steps in production. Six laboratories cover cell testing, product efficacy evaluation with VISIA imaging across 12 skin indicators, plant extraction and fermentation, active ingredient analysis with HPLC, gas chromatography and UV-Vis, packaging testing with xenon lamp aging, and heavy metal testing. The R&D system spans two research institutes, two postdoctoral and technical service stations, and three centers for application R&D, process technology, and product evaluation, with R&D spending at 8% of revenue and partnerships with six universities.

The fit is a brand with claims that need substantiation, categories that need certification, or markets that need documented filings. Twenty-two special cosmetics certificates cover the registration route that whitening, sunscreen, and anti-hair-loss products require in China.

Kolmar Laboratories: over-the-counter and pharmaceutical-grade skincare

Kolmar Laboratories is one of the longest-established contract manufacturers in North America and works across the boundary between cosmetics and over-the-counter drugs, serving clinical dermatology and skin health brands.

The fit is a brand targeting the US market with over-the-counter claims, acne treatment positioning, or pharmaceutical-grade safety expectations. The heavy US regulatory orientation is less useful for a brand selling primarily in trend-driven global cosmetics.

Ausmetics: export adaptability across multiple regulatory frameworks

Ausmetics works across a broad personal care range with an emphasis on adapting formulations to the compliance standards of the EU, ASEAN, the US, and China, supported by international production capacity.

The fit is a brand needing versatility and export-oriented formulation support across several regions. A broad personal care focus means less specialization in narrow clinical dermatology categories than a dedicated efficacy laboratory would offer.


What Does a Side-by-Side Capability Comparison Show?

The table below compares the five on the criteria that decide a project. DEVA Skincare's figures come from its own verified record. Figures for the other four are drawn from their public positioning, and any of them should be confirmed directly before you commit.

Criterion

Intercos

Cosmax

DEVA Skincare

Kolmar Laboratories

Ausmetics

Primary specialization

Luxury color cosmetics, sensory skincare

K-beauty trend products, high-volume output

Efficacy skincare and special cosmetics certification

Over-the-counter and pharmaceutical-grade skincare

Broad personal care, export adaptability

Manufacturing footprint

Global, Italy-based

South Korea, China, US, Indonesia

Four sites, Guangzhou and Huangpu plus Indonesia

North America

International, multi-region

Combined monthly capacity

Not stated publicly, confirm directly

Not stated publicly, confirm directly

Above 20 million units

Not stated publicly, confirm directly

Not stated publicly, confirm directly

Certifications to verify

Confirm ISO 22716 and GMPC

Confirm ISO 22716 and GMPC

FDA cosmetic manufacturer registration 2023, BPJPH halal 2024, ISO 22716, GMPC

Confirm ISO 22716, GMPC, OTC registration

Confirm ISO 22716 and GMPC

Special cosmetics certificates

Not applicable to its positioning

Confirm directly

22 held, 21 under application

Not applicable to its positioning

Confirm directly

In-house test protocols

Confirm directly

Confirm directly

150 protocols, six laboratories

Confirm directly

Confirm directly

Typical MOQ

Higher, suited to established brands

Suited to high-volume programs

5,000 units standard, 10,000 for aluminum cans, 50,000 for sheet masks, 200,000 for ampoules

Confirm directly

Confirm directly

Sampling and production timing

Confirm directly

Confirm directly

1 week sampling, 6 weeks production after sample approval

Confirm directly

Confirm directly

Best-fit brand stage

Established luxury brands

Trend-led brands scaling volume

Brands needing claim substantiation and certification

US-focused clinical and OTC brands

Multi-market export brands

 

The empty cells are not a criticism of those manufacturers. They are the questions you should ask in a first call, because a supplier that cannot answer them in writing will not answer them at a filing deadline either.


Which Manufacturer Fits Which Stage of Brand Growth?

Brand stage

What matters most

Which profile fits

What to ask first

Pre-launch with a single SKU

Low MOQ and a short sampling cycle

A manufacturer with a documented small-batch threshold

The exact MOQ for your pack format and the sampling lead time

Launching with an efficacy claim

Claim substantiation and testing depth

A manufacturer with in-house panels and certificate history

Which protocols run in-house and which go to third parties

Entering China with a whitening or sunscreen product

Special cosmetics registration capability

A manufacturer holding special cosmetics certificates

How many certificates are held and what the filing timeline looks like

Entering the US

MoCRA facility registration and OTC positioning

A registered facility, or an OTC-adjacent specialist for drug claims

The FDA registration number and its renewal date

Exporting to the EU

Product Information File and safety report capability

A manufacturer with an in-house regulatory affairs function

Who drafts the safety report and who signs it

Scaling an established line

Capacity, line count, and second-source options

A manufacturer with multiple sites

Monthly capacity per site and available line time



What Verification Steps Apply to Any Manufacturer on the List?

Four verification steps apply to every candidate, including the ones with strong reputations.

Confirm the registration and certificate documents, not the claims about them. For the US market, ask for the FDA cosmetic manufacturer registration number and its renewal date, because MoCRA ties your product listing to the manufacturer's registration status. For the EU, ask who holds the responsible person role and whether the safety report is drafted in house.

Confirm the testing location. Ask which protocols run in the manufacturer's own laboratories and which are sent to third parties. A manufacturer that outsources every panel carries a longer critical path and less control over the result.

Confirm the MOQ against your actual pack format. A headline MOQ figure often applies to the simplest format. Aluminum cans and ampoules carry different thresholds, so ask for the number that matches your component.

Confirm capacity against your launch volume. A large total capacity figure says nothing about available line time in your window. Ask for the production slot your volume would book.

What Does the Vetting Checklist Cover?

Area

Question to ask

Acceptable answer

Red flag

Facility registration

What is your FDA registration number and renewal date?

A number with a current renewal cycle

Refusal to provide the number

Quality certification

Which of ISO 22716 and GMPC do you hold, and can I see the certificates?

Current certificates with scope matching your category

Certification claimed without documents

Ingredient screening

When in the process do you screen ingredients against target market lists?

At the prototyping stage

Screening only after the formula is frozen

Claim support

Which test protocols run in your own laboratories?

A named list with equipment and methods

Everything outsourced with no in-house capability

Special certification

How many special cosmetics certificates do you hold?

A specific count with the categories

A vague answer about experience in the area

Documentation

Who drafts the Product Information File and the safety report?

An in-house regulatory affairs function

No named owner for the dossier

Capacity

What monthly volume can you commit for my SKU and format?

A figure tied to a specific site and line

A total capacity figure with no line detail

MOQ

What is the MOQ for my exact pack format?

A number per format

A headline number that changes on follow-up

 

How Do You Move From Shortlist to Sample?

Sampling takes one week once the brief is settled, and mass production takes six weeks after sample approval. The shortlist-to-sample path runs through four steps.

Send the brief with the target market list, the claim list, and the pack format, because all three change the formula and the filing scope. Ask each candidate to confirm the MOQ against that exact format rather than a headline figure. Request the ingredient screening result against your target markets before the prototype is built, since a formula that clears one market and fails another is worth discovering at that stage. Then compare samples across candidates on the same criteria rather than on sensory impression alone.

DEVA Skincare screens ingredients against global regulatory databases at the prototyping stage, compiles the Product Information File, and coordinates the safety report with licensed assessors. A regulatory affairs team handles notification through the Cosmetic Products Notification Portal for EU-bound products. The 150 in-house test protocols cover the claim substantiation work that a skincare launch usually needs.

If you are comparing candidates and want a reference point, send your brief and target markets through the inquiry form below. Our R&D and regulatory affairs team will return the specification, MOQ, sampling timeline, and filing path for your skincare OEM project.

What is the difference between an OEM and an ODM?

An OEM manufacturer builds a product to your formula and specification, and you own the formulation and the development decisions. An ODM manufacturer develops the formula and offers it for your brand, so the formulation work is included and the resulting product may also be offered to other brands unless you commission exclusivity. DEVA Skincare works in both models and also provides brand incubation support.

It depends on the pack format rather than on the manufacturer alone. At DEVA Skincare the standard MOQ is 5,000 units, aluminum cans start at 10,000 units, sheet masks at 50,000 units, and ampoules at 200,000 units. Always ask for the figure that matches your exact component, since a headline number often applies only to the simplest format.

At minimum, ISO 22716 for cosmetics good manufacturing practice and GMPC. For the US market, an FDA cosmetic manufacturer registration that is current, since MoCRA ties your product listing to the facility registration. For halal markets, a recognized halal certification. DEVA Skincare holds FDA cosmetic manufacturer registration granted in 2023, Indonesian BPJPH halal certification from 2024, ISO 22716, and GMPC.

Ask for the registration number and the renewal date, then confirm that the number is referenced in the product listing. Facility registration must be renewed every two years from the initial registration date. If a manufacturer will not provide the number, treat that as a red flag, because the registration status transfers into your own listing requirement.

Sampling takes one week at DEVA Skincare once the brief is settled, including the target market list, the claim list, and the pack format. Mass production takes six weeks after sample approval. Each test protocol takes about four weeks, so a project with a claim that needs a human study should plan roughly one quarter from brief to shippable batch.

Not necessarily, and the deciding factor is the MOQ for your pack format rather than the manufacturer's size. A large manufacturer with a 5,000-unit threshold can serve a small brand, while a mid-sized one with a 50,000-unit floor cannot. DEVA Skincare serves more than 300 brands a year across a range of sizes, and many arrive with a single SKU and scale after the first launch.


Comments


bottom of page